Neon in times of social reaslism

“Afterimage” is a 2016 Polish movie directed by Andrzej Wajda. Biopic of Polish avant-garde artist Wladyslaw Strzeminski, whose abstract style brought him into conflict with his country's authorities and their narrow-minded conception of what art should aspire to be, it is a movie about how the socialist government destroyed a charismatic, rebellious man. Wajda does not forget to recreate the neon signs which illuminated streets of Łodz in the times of social realism.


From tradition to the evolution of one of the most significant and environmentally friendly lightening source, that has made the consumer city big and continuously expanding. An excursus on how to use neon in visual communication, art, design and architecture, without neglecting the technical and technological innovations that international laws and future market demand, and that the most visionary companies can fulfil.

Neon - a movie for neon lovers

“Neon” traces the history of the Communist-era neon signs of Warsaw, Poland, the context that generated them, the people and places connected with them, and the many meanings they have acquired since they were created.


In a sea of LED video screens, the advertiser with neon stands out. The craft and handmade aspect of the signs brings with it a certain aesthetic that is irresistible to distinguishing brands. What's disappointing for neon enthusiasts is that neon is dying. Businesses are switching to cheaper, more energy-efficient LED bulbs and municipal planning boards are zoning out neon to decrease the number of unsightly displays.


In the top of a 175 meters tall skyscraper - designed by the Archistar Zaha Hadid - in the Milan area known as “City Life” - a new sign is going to be installed: the red background panel is 15 meters high while the size of the sign is approx. 5,40 x 31,00 meters, with a total luminous surface of 60 sqm. The sign is fully illuminated by LED modules. Once installed the total height of the skyscraper will reach the 190 mts. According to the Light Pollution law in force the Power Supplies have been properly adjusted in order to do not exceed the limit of 4.500 lumen.